Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

To run this script

Select Script → Project → Clean_Project from the Menus.

Or in Version 13 or higher you can run the utility directly from this page using this button.

Description

This script cleans up a project by deleting any Graphs, Measurements, Schematics, System Diagrams, Data Files, Netlists, and EM Structures not needed for the current active (not disabled) measurements in the project. This script is commonly used before sending a project to a college or to AWR support as an easy way to cut down a complicated project to a much simpler one.

When the script is run, the dialog below will be displayed.

 

 

.

The script has the following features:

  • If your project is not saved before running the script, you will be prompted to save before continuing.

  • The Preserve Disabled Subcircuits option is well described on the dialog.

  • The Source Selection area are where you choose which types of measurements are used to determine what to keep in the project. Measurements are always used so that option cannot be changed. Annotations and Optimization and Yield Goals also cause simulation to happen. With these options off, if one of these exists for a document and no other measurement is made to that document, it will be removed.

  • The Dry Run option will analyze the design and print to the log what would have been deleted if this option was not checked. The Status Window will display a link to click to view the log. For example, after running the script, you will see this link.

    Clicking the link would open a log similar to the one shown below.

  • The Save As New Project option will save with new name when not doing a dry run. We highly recommend you do not turn off this option as you could lose other parts of your design.

  • The Notes text box allows you to add some details as to why you cleaning the project. Any text in this field will then be added to the log file named "Clean_Log" that is loaded into the project when done.

  • The Advanced button opens a 2nd dialog as shown in the picture above. This allow more control of items to skip removing when the script is run.