During a license disconnect you can continue to use the software, but you can't see what you are doing. For example, if you had items selected for deletion and then pressed Delete after you lost the license, the items are still deleted. As a precaution, you should only perform a Save operation until the license is restored.
FLEXlm TIMEOUT feature
FLEXlm includes a feature that allows inactive programs to return licenses to the license manager. Since FLEXlm cannot determine if a program is inactive, the developer of a program must specifically add code to check for inactivity and tell FLEXlm that it is OK to return the license. AWR has not added this code to the AWRDE, so does not return the license when there is no activity.AWR has not implemented the flexlm feature to detect the inactivity and return the license.